

## They're not thinking of child passenger safety laws. Make sure you are.

Vehicle crashes are the #1 cause of death for young children. But you can reduce your child's risk of death in a crash by 50% just by making sure they're properly restrained in the appropriate car seat, booster seat, or seat belt for their age and size.

Effective April 2025, new updates to Michigan's child passenger safety laws will keep all children safer.

Learn about the laws so you know the best way to protect your kids on the road.



Rear-facing
0-2 years



Forward-facing 2-5 years



**Booster seat** 5-8 years or until 4' 9"



**Seat belt** 4' 9" or taller

## The Newest Child Passenger Safety Laws

According to updated laws as of April 2025, children must be secured in a car seat that is appropriate for their weight and height as indicated by the car seat's manufacturer.

**Infant to two years:** A child must be in a rear-facing car seat until they reach the maximum weight or height allowed by the car seat's manufacturer or the child is 2 years old.

**Two to five years:** The child can then move into a forward-facing car seat until they reach the maximum weight or height allowed by the car seat's manufacturer or the child is 5 years old.

**Five to eight years:** The child can then move to a belt-positioning booster seat using a lap and shoulder belt until they are 4' 9" or 8 years old.

**All children under thirteen years:** Children under the age of 13 must ride in the rear seat of a vehicle, if the vehicle has one available.

Learn more about the updated laws at Michigan.gov/CarSeats

